The Raft

This poem was written at least two years ago. At the time I was having a hard time in my marriage. So it was written out of the pain of that and a dream. The prelude to the poem was written at the time as well.

Last night I had a dream and in that dream I wrote a poem. It was a spectacular poem. I knew I should have gotten up right then and wrote it down but I was tired. I remember some of it. Here is what I remember. Just bear in mind… I wish I was a good poet. I am trying. Going out on a limb to do something I enjoy but maybe no one else likes. But it is all good for me.

The raft

How did I get here?
All alone.
Isolated.
In this raft floating in the middle of the sea.
I thought I was on a cruise ship
Surrounded by people that I love
People that love me
Yet, here I am
Companionless
Alone and drifting
It is a big raft
There is plenty of food
Plenty of water
I am taken care of
Hum… that feels good
But still… alone?
Wait… I see a light up ahead
Is that you?
With your hand outstretched
To pull me in?
To save me from being alone?
I see the light in your eyes.
I see your warm smile.
I am not going to be alone for long.
Wait… where are you going?
Why would you leave me here?
Come back!
My cries fall on deaf ears
Maybe he wasn’t there after all
Maybe I imagined his warm smile
Maybe I need to see him
Inside I am crying out to be with him again
But here I am… alone on my raft
Not hungry
Not cold
Well taken care of.

Psalm 147:3 “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”

Revelation 3:20 “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”

P.S. My marriage is in a much better place now!!

Leave a Reply

